High School is the best time of your life. Yeah right!

Throughout my childhood, nearly everyone I crossed paths with would tell me that  “high school days are the best days of your life – you’ll never forget high school” which wasn’t a complete lie. I mean, unfortunately I’ll never forget high school but as far as high school days being the best days of my life goes, SO WRONG.

I had high hopes for high school. I vaguely remember my first day. It was an exciting time in my life but the novelty soon wore off. Early mornings, five days a week, class from 8am until 3pm on most days, compulsory sport, detention– I do not miss it. I do however miss the people and the random things we got up to in an attempt to entertain ourselves.

I didn’t hate high school, I actually liked it (minus the terrible fashion and choices in hairstyles), I will always cherish those memories but I just think that varsity life is sooooo much better. High school is an awkward time in anyone’s life. You don’t know who you are, you have no idea how big the world actually is and you aren’t 18 yet (that’s when all the fun really starts).

I guess it all comes down to a matter of opinion. I like to think that these days I spend my time with the people I want to see, I am studying what I want to study and it’s legal for me to do everything (provided that it’s legal of course – drive, sign contracts, smoke, drink, etc). Kids try so hard to fit in and be popular at high school, when in fact none of that really matters.

There is life after high school – a much better life, and it doesn’t involve a uniform.

Hang in there.

One thought on “High School is the best time of your life. Yeah right!

  1. This is the perfect webpage for anybody who wants to find
    out about this topic. You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really will
    need to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that has been discussed
    for many years. Great stuff, just wonderful!

Leave a Reply

